Conference Announcement & Call for Papers
Finance Down Under: Building on the Best from the Cellars of Finance

March 7-9, 2013, Melbourne

The Department of Finance in the Faculty of Business and Economics at the University of Melbourne is pleased to continue its annual conference series: Finance Down Under: Building on the Best from the Cellars of Finance.

TOPICS: We invite submissions that embody the best in current theory and empirical advances. Papers in corporate finance, asset pricing, and all other areas of finance are welcome. The selection committee includes eminent scholars in every facet of finance. We are delighted to feature cutting edge work that represents the forefront of finance research.

CONFERENCE OVERVIEW: Our unique format also includes a panel discussion and special symposium built around vintage work in finance that has inspired recent advances and withstood the test of time. This year, featured participants include Peter Bossaerts, John Campbell, Larry Epstein, and Stan Zin, discussing the impact and influence of Epstein and Zin's 1989 classic "Substitution, Risk Aversion, and the Temporal Behavior of Consumption Growth and Asset Returns I: A Theoretical Framework".

Every selected speaker will receive three nights paid accommodation. In addition, each overseas presenter will be reimbursed up to A$1,500 towards travel costs; each domestic presenter will be reimbursed up to A$400. To ensure the highest quality interaction, overall attendance may be capped.

We invite you to join us, March 7-9, 2013 in delightful late-summer Melbourne. The program outline and further details will be available at the conference website:

Registered participants are invited to an afternoon tour of the local wine country following the Saturday session. For partners and guests, a limited number of social-only registrations will also be available.

PAPER SUBMISSION PROCEDURE: The deadline for submissions is October 28, 2012. Authors of selected papers will be notified in early December 2012. Please email your submissions to our department administrator, AnnMaree Murray, at: for corporate finance submissions OR for investments, asset pricing, and all other submissions.

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE: Neal Galpin, Hae Won (Henny) Jung, Spencer Martin, and Jordan Neyland, The Department of Finance, Faculty of Business & Economics, The University of Melbourne, Victoria 3010 AUSTRALIA

CONFERENCE SELECTION COMMITTEE: Members of the Conference Selection Committee include: Renee Adams, University of New South Wales
Hong Liu, Washington University St Louis
Anup Agrawal, University of Alabama
Dmitry Livdan, University of California, Berkeley
Thomas Bates, Arizona State University
Richard Lowery, The University of Texas at Austin
Utpal Bhattacharya, Indiana University
Michelle Lowry, The Pennsylvania State University
Audra Boone, Texas A&M University
Deborah Lucas, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Peter L. Bossaerts, California Institute of Technology
Christian T. Lundblad, UNC Chapel Hill
Stephen Brown, New York University
Anthony W. Lynch, New York University
Sabrina Buti, University of Toronto
Craig MacKinlay, University of Pennsylvania
Francesca Carrieri, McGill University
Ernst Maug, University of Mannheim
David A. Chapman, Boston College
Robert L. McDonald, Northwestern University
Sudheer Chava, Georgia Institute of Technology
Todd T. Milbourn, Washington University St Louis
Peter Christoffersen, University of Toronto
Tobias J. Moskowitz, University of Chicago
Susan Christoffersen, University of Toronto
David Musto, University of Pennsylvania
Lauren H. Cohen, Harvard Business School
Kjell G. Nyborg, University of Zurich
Francesca Cornelli, London Business School
Emilio Osambela, Carnegie Mellon University
Stephen G. Dimmock, Nanyang Technological University
Christopher Parsons, University of California, San Diego
Robert Dittmar, University of Michigan
Bradley Paye, University of Georgia
Ran Duchin, University of Washington
Gordon Phillips, University of Southern California
B. Espen Eckbo, Dartmouth College
Jeffrey Pontiff, Boston College
Andrew Ellul, Indiana University
Uday Rajan, University of Michigan
Eliezer Fich, Drexel University
Krishna Ramaswamy, University of Pennsylvania
Mark J. Flannery, University of Florida
Adam V. Reed, UNC Chapel Hill
Michael Gallmeyer, University of Virginia
Harley E. (Chip) Ryan Jr., Georgia State University
Ron Giammarino, University of British Colombia
Michael Schill, University of Virginia
Ning Gong, University of Melbourne
Norman Schurhoff, Universite de Lausanne
Todd A. Gormley, University of Pennsylvania
Mark Seasholes, HKUST
Vidhan Goyal, HKUST
Clemens Sialm, The University of Texas at Austin
Bruce Grundy, University of Melbourne
David C. Smith, University of Virginia
Ro Gutierrez, University of Oregon
Tom Smith, University of Queensland
Christopher Hennessy, London Business School
Denis Sosyura, University of Michigan
Christian Heyerdahl-Larsen, London Business School
Ajay Subramanian, Georgia State University
Edith Hotchkiss, Boston College
Melvyn Teo, Singapore Management University
Zoran Ivkovich, Michigan State University
Heather Tookes, Yale University
Kris Jacobs, University of Houston
Charles Trzcinka, Indiana University
Ravi Jagannathan, Northwestern University
Garry Twite, The University of Texas at Austin
Shane Johnson, Texas A&M University
Ralph Walkling, Drexel University
Jennifer Juergens, Drexel University
Russ Wermers, University of Maryland
Marcin Kacperczyk, New York University
Toni M. Whited, University of Rochester
Robert A. Korajczyk, Northwestern University
David Yermack, New York University
Laura Lindsey, Arizona State University
Guofu Zhou, Washington University St Louis

Posted 9/17/12