Call for Papers
Second European Retail Investment Conference (Eric)

Stuttgart, Germany
Main Conference: April 25-26, 2013
Doctoral Consortium: April 24, 2013

Keynote Speaker: Alok Kumar (University of Miami)

The range of products available to retail investors, as well as the trading volume in these products has grown substantially. Financial institutions increasingly offer investment products and services that are specifically designed to fit the needs of retail investors and facilitate sophisticated trading strategies. However, the financial crisis has left retail investors with little understanding of financial markets and its institutions. Few researchers have analyzed the development of this growing market, the investment decisions of retail investors in this changing market environment and the implications of the financial crisis. The impact of technology to support decision-making, as well as financial market regulation are additional areas that require further research to better understand financial markets.

TOPICS: The European Retail Investment Conference (ERIC) invites submissions that investigate retail products and services, the impact of technology on retail investors, investors' decision-making, investor protection schemes, and market microstructure. For further information please visit:

Papers on topics not mentioned above will also be considered.

PAPER SUBMISSION PROCEDURE: ERIC will accept completed but unpublished research papers that have not been accepted for publication at the time of submission. Submitted papers will be double-blind reviewed by the program committee. The submission deadline for the main conference is December 15, 2012. ERIC welcomes Ph.D. students to submit working papers or preliminary drafts of one of their Ph.D. essays to the doctoral consortium. The deadline for submitting papers for the doctoral consortium is December 31, 2012. Accommodation and registration are free of charge for presenters and accepted Ph.D. students. Acceptance of papers will be announced around February 4, 2013.

- Hans-Peter Burghof, University of Hohenheim, Germany
- Ryan Riordan, University of Ontario Institute of Technology, Canada
- Christof Weinhardt, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Posted 8/27/12