Call for Papers
4th International Conference on Corporate Governance in Emerging Markets

August 23-24, 2013, Hyderabad, India

Submission Deadline: February 28, 2013

Supported by: Sabanci University

The Global Corporate Governance Forum, the Indian School of Business, and the Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research call for papers to be presented at the 4th International Conference on Corporate Governance in Emerging Markets, to be held on August 23-24, 2013 in Hyderabad, INDIA. The conference series is an undertaking of the Emerging Markets Corporate Governance Research Network, chaired by Prof. Stijn Claessens of University of Amsterdam and IMF.

THEMES: Conference themes include:
- Dynamic aspects of ownership and control structures (family-owned firms, business groups, governance mechanisms and implications for firm level governance indicators, the corporate governance of financial institutions, and the role of institutional investors).
- New dimensions of firm-society interactions and governance implications (corporate social responsibility, sustainable development and climate change, and socially responsible investments).
- Public and private enforcement and dynamic changes (improving enforcement in weak environments, roles of voluntary mechanisms, and the dynamic aspects of institutional change).

PAPER SUBMISSION PROCEDURE: The deadline for submitting papers is February 28, 2013. Reasonable economy class travel and lodging expenses for one presenter of each accepted paper will be reimbursed by the organizing institutions after the conference if requested. Submissions can be done online at or by e-mail to and copied to

FURTHER INFORMATION: For details of the conference and this call for papers, please visit:

Melsa Ararat (IFC-GCGF and Sabanci University)
Stijn Claessens (IMF and University of Amsterdam)
Rajesh Chakrabarti (Indian School of Business)
Jayati Sarkar (Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research)
Subrata Sarkar - Chair (Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research)
Krishnamurthy Subramanian (Indian School of Business)
Burcin Yurtoglu (WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management)

Viral Acharya (New York University)
Renee Adams (The University of New South Wales)
Franklin Allen (Wharton School)
N. Balasubramanian (Indian Institute of Management, Bangalore)
Lucian Bebchuk (Harvard University)
Roland Benabou (Princeton University)
Erik Berglof (EBRD)
Bernard Black (Northwestern University)
Stijn Claessens (IMF and University of Amsterdam)
Martijn Cremers (University of Notre-Dame)
Joseph Fan (The Chinese University of Hong Kong)
Igor Filatotchev (City University of London)
Ronald Gilson (Stanford University)
Hasung Jang (Korea University)
Kang Jun-Koo Kang (Nanyang Technological University of Singapore)
Vikramaditya S. Khanna (University of Michigan)
Woojin Kim (Soeul National University)
Bruce Kogut (INSEAD and Columbia University)
Ricardo P. Camara Leal (Universidade Federal Do Rio de Janeiro)
Kai Li (University of British Columbia)
Dirk Matten (York University)
Randall Morck (University of Alberta)
Enrico Perotti (University of Amsterdam)
Katharina Pisto (Columbia University)
Raghuram Rajan (The University of Chicago)
Mark Roe (Harvard University)
Kaustav Sen (Indian Institute of Management, Kolkata)
Pradeep Yadav (University of Oklahoma)
Yishay Yafeh (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Luigi Zingales (University of Chicago)

Posted 10/18/12