Call for Papers
4th Conference on Financial Markets and Corporate Governance

Wellington, New Zealand

PhD Symposium: 3 April 2013
Conference: 4 & 5 April 2013

Deadline for paper submission: Tuesday, 18 December 2012

You are invited to submit papers for presentation at the 4th Conference on Financial Markets and Corporate Governance to be held on Thursday, 4th and Friday, 5th April 2013 in Wellington. Papers related to all aspects of Corporate Finance, Investments, Capital Markets, Financial Reporting, Corporate Governance and related areas are welcome.

PAPER SUBMISSION PROCEDURE: To submit your papers please do so at the following link:

REGISTRATION: To register for the conference, please do so here:

PhD SYMPOSIUM: The conference will be preceded by a PhD symposium on Wednesday, 3rd April 2013. The symposium will provide PhD students with opportunities to receive high quality feedback about their academic work. PhD candidates may submit proposals in the same subject areas as covered by the conference.

PhD PROPOSAL SUBMISSIONS: Abstracts of the PhD proposals must be submitted by email to on or before 18 December 2012. Full instructions available on the conference website:

CONFERENCE DETAILS: The conference is being hosted by Victoria University of Wellington (School of Accounting and Commercial Law, School of Economics and Finance and the Centre for Accounting, Governance and Taxation Research at the Victoria Business School), in conjunction with Curtin University (Department of Finance and Banking), La Trobe University (Finance and Accounting departments), Macquarie University (Departments of Accounting and Corporate Governance, and Applied Finance and Actuarial Studies) and Queensland University of Technology (School of Economics and Finance).

Professor Jonathan Karpoff (University of Washington, Foster School of Business)
Professor Ross Watts (MIT Sloan School of Management)

Professor Ron Masulis (University of New South Wales)
Professor Tom Smith (University of Queensland)

Professor Peter Clarkson (University of Queensland)
Professor Stephen Taylor (University of Technology Sydney)

Conference Chairs:
Professor Morris Altman (Victoria University of Wellington)
Professor Ian Eggleton (Victoria University of Wellington)
Professor Tony van Zijl (Victoria University of Wellington)

Professor Kamran Ahmed (La Trobe University)
Associate Professor Balasingham Balachandran (La Trobe University)
Professor Glenn Boyle (University of Canterbury)
Professor Robert Durand (Curtin University)
Professor Robert Faff (University of Queensland)
Professor Andrew Fergusson (University of Technology Sydney)
Dr Michael Keefe (Victoria University of Wellington)
Trish Keeper (Victoria University of Wellington)
Dr Alan Kilgore (Macquarie University)
Dr Peter Lam (University of Technology Sydney)
Associate Professor Hai Lin (Victoria University of Wellington)
Professor Paul Mather (La Trobe University)
Emeritus Professor Michael Theobald (University of Birmingham)
Dr Thu Phuong Truong (Victoria University of Wellington)
Professor Madhu Veeraraghavan (Monash University)
Associate Professor Peter Verhoeven (Queensland University of Technology)
Associate Professor Sue Wright (Macquarie University)
Professor Xiangkang Yin (La Trobe University)

Posted 10/25/12