2019 Santiago Finance Workshop (SFW)

Conference dates

09 Dec 2019 - 10 Dec 2019


Santiago, Chile


Dear Academic Community,

The University of Chile (with the support of the Millennium Institute for Research in Market Imperfections and Public Policy and the Central Bank of Chile) is organizing the 2019 version of the Santiago Finance Workshop (SFW). The SFW will be held on December 9-10, 2019 in Santiago. We are glad to announce that our keynote speaker will be:

-Prof. Itay Goldstein (University of Pennsylvania - Wharton School), Executive Editor of The Review of Financial Studies.

The previous workshops held in 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018 received very positive feedback, and the speakers generated several very interesting discussions. We also had outstanding keynote speakers, Prof. Toni M. Whited, Prof. Stefan Nagel, Prof. Andrew Karolyi, Prof. Franklin Allen, Prof. Michael Brennan and Prof. Eduardo Schwartz (see below full list of participants).

The University of Chile is one of the most prestigious universities in Latin-America, and the workshop aims at bringing together academics and policy makers from all over the world, in order to discuss new empirical and theoretical research that deals with financial issues. You are invited to submit papers on any topic in Finance or Financial Economics.

The SFW’s organizing committee will cover airfares tickets (economy class) to Santiago and accommodation during the stay of all presenters. All participants are expected to stay during the entire conference. If you would like to present a paper at the SFW workshop, please send a copy in pdf form to sfw@dii.uchile.cl and committee@santiagofinanceworkshop.com, no later than July 15th, 2019. Authors of accepted papers will be notified by August 15th, 2019.

For additional information visit: www.santiagofinanceworkshop.com

Organizing Committee of the Santiago Finance workshop

List of speakers in the previous Santiago Finance workshops 2015-2018:

Vikas Agarwal - Georgia State University
Franklin Allen - University of Pennsylvania and Imperial College London
Ilona Babenka - Arizona State University
Federico Bandi - Johns Hopkins University
Sohnke Bartram - University of Warwick
Michael Brennan - UCLA Anderson School of Management
Giacomo Calzolari - University of Bologna
Elena Carletti - Bocconi University
Anusha Chari - University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Mikhail Chernov - UCLA
Joel David – University of Southern California
Stuart Gabriel – University of California Los Angeles
Thomas Gehrig - University of Vienna
Stefano Giglio - Yale University
Burton Hollifield – Carnegie Mellon University
Sebastián Infante – Federeal Reserve Board
Andrew Karolyi -Cornell University
Pablo Kurlat – Stanford University
Olga Lebedeva – University of Warwick
Oliver Levine - University of Wisconsin–Madison
Andres Liberman - New York University
Evgeny Lyandres - Boston University
Pedro Matos - University of Virginia
Gonzalo Maturana - Emory University
Stefan Nagel - University of Chicago
Guillermo Ordoñez – University of Pennsylvania
Chayawat Ornthanalai – University of Toronto
Michaela Pagel - Columbia Business School
Emiliano Pagnotta – Imperial College London
Andreas Park – University of Toronto
Rodney Ramcharan - University of Southern California
Matthew Ringgenberg - University of Utah
Eduardo Schwartz – University of California Los Angeles
Lukas Schmid – Duke University
David Schoenherr - Princeton University
Felipe Severino – Dartmouth College
Stephan Siegel - University of Washington
David Skeie – Texas A&M University
Roberto Steri - University of Lausanne
Eric T. Swanson – University of California Irvine
Mitch Warachka - University of San Diego
Michael Weber - University of Chicago
Toni M. Whited - University of Michigan
Haibei Zhao - Lehigh University