9th Behavioural Finance and Capital Markets

Conference dates

30 Oct 2019 - 31 Oct 2019


360 Collins Street, Melbourne, Australia


The Finance Discipline at La Trobe University Business School in collaboration with the Business School of the University of Queensland is inviting finance scholars, practitioners and research students to participate in the specialised 9th Behavioural Finance and Capital Markets (BFCM) Conference. The conference will be held in the City Campus of La Trobe University, 360 Collins Street, Melbourne on Wednesday and Thursday 30-31 October 2019. The conference gala dinner will be held on Wednesday 30 of October.

The BFCM conference is sponsored by La Trobe Business School (La Trobe University), the Business School (University of Queensland), Capital Markets CRC and Amery Partners Investment Management. The conference is also co-supported by Northfield Information Services.

The Behavioural Finance and Capital Markets conference aims to bring together scholars and practitioners to present state-of-the-art research in the fields of Behavioural Finance, Experimental Finance and Capital Markets/Market Microstructure. The conference organising committee invites submissions of high-quality research papers addressing theoretical, empirical and experimental issues on either Behavioral Finance or Capital Markets/Market Microstructure.

Keynote Speakers
Elena Asparouhova (The Francis A. Madsen Professor of Finance at the David Eccles School of Business at the University of Utah)
Peter Bossaerts (Professor of Experimental Finance and Decision Neuroscience Honorary Fellow, Florey Institute for Neuroscience and Mental Health at the University of Melbourne)
Dan diBartolomeo (President and Founder of Northfield Information Services)
Nadia Massoud (The Ian Potter Chair Professor of Finance and Associate Dean of Research at the Melbourne Business School - The University of Melbourne)

Conference Format
The conference will host three special events on the first day: (i) a Finance Industry Forum on the theme ‘Technological Disruptions in the Finance Industry and the Role of Humans’; (ii) an industry keynote address by Dan diBartolomeo (President and Founder of Northfield Information Services) and (iii) a session featuring applied research by industry practitioners of about 20 minutes each followed by 10 minutes questions and answers and; (iv) a poster session with short presentation of CMCRC industry PhD students.

On day two of the conference, we aim to include small number of high quality contributing conference papers. Each author will have about 20 minutes for presentation, 10 minutes discussion and 10 minutes questions and answers. In addition, our goal is to include a second poster session with short presentation of PhD students.

Best Paper Awards
Best Paper Award - AU$1,500 sponsored by Capital Markets CRC (www.cmcrc.com)
Best Paper Award for PhD Students - AU$1,500 sponsored by Amery Partners Investment Management (www.amery.com.au/pages/contact_page.html)

Submission Guidelines
Two PDF copies of the proposed paper should be submitted by email to BFCM@latrobe.edu.au by 7 July 2019 as follows:
a) The full paper with authors’ names: The title page must include the paper title, authors’ names, short abstract of about 100 words, the presenting author's name, title of the paper, affiliation, email address with the affiliation of all additional co-authors.

b) The full paper without authors’ names: The title page must include the title and a short abstract of about 100 words only. Any identifiable information about the authors must be omitted from the text and properties of the file.
In their submission email, doctorial students shall indicate whether they are CMCRC industry based PhD students or not, as well as their home academic institution.

Key Dates
Closing date for paper submissions: 7 July 2019
Notification of acceptance: 22 July 2019
Registration deadline for accepted authors: 22 August 2019

For more information and registration link refer to:

Conference Contacts
Conference Email: BFCM@latrobe.edu.au
Conference Chair: Prof. Petko S. Kalev – P.Kalev@latrobe.edu.au
Conference Committee:
Associate Prof. Barry Oliver – B.Oliver@business.uq.edu.au
Associate Prof. Darren Henry – D.Henry@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Jing Zhao – J.Zhao@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Mary Ma – M.Ma@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Mohammad AI Mamun – M.AlMamun@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Md Safiullah – M.Safiullah@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Van Vu – V.Vu@latrobe.edu.au