8th Annual Wharton Conference on Liquidity and Financial Fragility

Conference dates

18 Oct 2019 - 19 Oct 2019


Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania: 3730 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA


Following the success of the last seven years’ conferences, we are organizing the eighth Conference on Liquidity and Financial Fragility. The conference will take place at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania (Philadelphia PA) starting on the morning of Friday, October 18, 2019 and ending in the afternoon of Saturday October 19, 2019. There will also be a reception and dinner on Friday evening. Details of last years’ programs are available in the Conference website: https://fic.wharton.upenn.edu/wharton-liquidity-conference/. We plan to follow a similar format this year.

We invite submissions of empirical and theoretical papers in various fields of economics and finance that touch upon the broad theme of Liquidity and Financial Fragility. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:
• Coordination failures, self-fulfilling beliefs, and runs
• Fragility in banks and non-banks institutions
• Financial frictions and the macro economy
• Liquidity and frictions in financial markets
• Systemic risk and financial regulation
• Financial institutions, networks, and contagion
• Monetary policy and financial stability
• Sovereign debt crises and their link to the financial sector
• The impact of crises and fragility on firms’ financing and investment policies
• Financial Technology (FinTech) and its implications for stability
• Digital currencies and their implications for the monetary system

The organizers of the conference are Itay Goldstein (Wharton Finance) and Guillermo Ordonez (Penn Economics). This year we will select papers with the help of a program committee composed of: Eduardo Davila (Yale), Itamar Drechsler (Wharton), Huberto Ennis (Richmond Fed), Vincent Glode (Wharton), Gary Gorton (Yale), Zhiguo He (Chicago), Victoria Ivashina (Harvard), Jakub Kastl (Princeton), Todd Keister (Rutgers), Pablo Kurlat (Stanford), Matteo Maggiori (Harvard), Robert McDonald (Northwestern), Jaromir Nosal (Boston College), Martin Oehmke (LSE), Christian Opp (Wharton), George Pennacchi (Illinois), Adriano Rampini (Duke), Philipp Schnabl (NYU), Luke Taylor (Wharton), Venky Venkateswaran (NYU), Annete Vissing-Jorgensen (Berkeley), Russ Wermers (Maryland), Randy Wright (Wisconsin) and Motohiro Yogo (Princeton).

Please submit your paper online at https://fic.wharton.upenn.edu/wharton-liquidity-conference/2019-conference/call-for-papers/ . The submission deadline is July 1, 2019. Authors will be notified by August 15, 2019 about the selection of papers.