3rd Annual JPMCC International Commodities Symposium

Conference dates

12 Aug 2019 - 13 Aug 2019


Denver, Colorado



3rd JPMCC International Commodities Symposium

Following a successful symposium in 2018 with the participation of researchers from eight major countries (see the 2018 conference program (http://www.cvent.com/events/2018-new-directions-in-commodities-research/agenda-01aa0e846af742f8b721281ad27d304e.aspx) and the report providing more details about the 2018 symposium )http://www.jpmcc-gcard.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/GCARD-Winter-2018-RDR-Yang.pdf)), J.P. Morgan Center for Commodities (JPMCC) is organizing the third annual international commodities symposium in 2019 at University of Colorado Denver Business School.

Date & Location: August 12 -13 (Mon-Tue), 2019, Denver, CO, USA

Deadline for Paper Submission: February 15, 2019

Keynote Speakers and Distinguished Participants (partial and confirmed, in an alphabetical order):

• James Hamilton, Robert F. Engle Professor of Economics, University of California at San Diego, and NBER
• Lutz Kilian, Professor of Economics, University of Michigan, and CEPR
• Craig Pirrong, Professor of Finance and the Energy Markets Director for Gutierrez Energy Management Institute, University of Houston
• Bluford Putnam, Managing Director and Chief Economist, CME Group
• K. Geert Rouwenhorst, Robert B. and Candice J. Haas Professor of Corporate Finance, Yale School of Management
• Robert I. Webb, Martin J. Patsel Jr. Research Professor and the Editor of Journal of Futures Markets, University of Virginia
• Frank A. Wolak, Holbrook Working Professor of Commodity Price Studies, Stanford University, and NBER
• Academic Researchers (e.g., Yale, Stanford, Cornell, UPenn, Chinese Academy of Science), Policymakers (e.g., the US Federal Reserve System, Bank of Canada, Inter-American Development Bank, US Energy Information Administration) and industry leaders (e.g., Bosch GmbH, CME, CoBank, J.P. Morgan, Newmont Mining) around the world

Program Committee

Submitted papers will be reviewed by the Program Committee, which is primarily composed of the JPMCC Research Council members. The Research Council members include distinguished scholars from Harvard, MIT, Princeton, Yale and other world top universities, and industry leaders from Bosch GmbH, Bunge, CME Group, Encana Oil & Gas USA, J.P. Morgan and Newmont Mining. The detailed list is as follows: (http://www.ucdenver.edu/academics/colleges/business/industry-programs/commodities/Pages/Research-Council.aspx)

Conference Details

The objective is to bring together global thought leaders and prominent stakeholders in commodities from both academia and industry to discuss their critical thinking and new research related to commodities. The focus will be on real-world relevance of commodities research with academic rigor. The sessions will be limited to outstanding research, and comprise of competitively selected and solicited papers, plus industry research leaders’ presentations and industry panel discussions. As we could only select a very limited number of papers for presentations in the past, we will have poster presentation sessions in the 2019 symposium program to include more good quality papers (in addition to traditional paper presentation sessions) and accommodate the strong need for participation in the symposium.

We invite submissions of completed papers (but not abstracts or extended abstracts) from all areas of commodities (e.g., agricultural, energy and mineral). To submit a paper, please email jian.yang@ucdenver.edu.

Paper acceptance will be notified by March 15, 2019.

The Special Issue and Best Paper Awards:

After including three high quality papers presented at the 2018 symposium in a (forthcoming) special issue, Journal of Futures Markets (a leading finance journal specialized in futures and derivatives) will continue to sponsor a special issue for the 2019 JPMCC symposium. Papers selected for presentations at the symposium with appropriate topics related to futures and derivatives, only at the option of authors, may be considered for the special issue, which would go through normal review process.

As in the past, a best paper award (with the prize of $2000) and a best discussant award (with the prize of $1000) for the 2019 symposium will be selected by ad hoc committees composed of distinguished scholars in commodities.


If you have any questions, please send email to us:

Organizer (& Program committee chair): Jian Yang, J.P. Morgan Endowed Chair & Research Director, J.P. Morgan Center for Commodities

Coordinator: Matthew Fleming, Program Manager, J.P. Morgan Center for Commodities