3rd CEMLA / Dallas Fed / IBEFA Financial Stability Workshop: Frontier Research in Financial Intermediation

Conference dates

25 Nov 2024 - 26 Nov 2024


Mexico City, Mexico


The Center for Latin American Monetary Studies (CEMLA), the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, and the International Banking, Economics and Finance Association (IBEFA) invite submissions to their 3rd Financial Stability Workshop: Frontier Research in Financial Intermediation, to be held on November 25 and 26 2024 at CEMLA’s headquarters in Mexico City. We invite theoretical and empirical submissions focusing on the interplay between financial intermediation, banking, and financial stability, on topics including:

• Interactions between monetary policy, inflation dynamics, and financial stability
• Lending technologies and FinTech
• Financial fragility through cross-border spillovers
• Liquidity risks and wholesale funding markets
• Climate finance
• Risks in housing and real estate markets
• Latest developments in prudential policies and regulation

CEMLA invites submissions for a special sponsored session dedicated to discuss outstanding research relevant for Latin America and the Caribbean. Authors indicating in their submission a preference for a dual-track submission will have publication opportunities in the Latin American Journal of Central Banking.

Participants are expected to cover their travel expenses; sponsors will offer to cover accommodation for invited participants. Please submit papers to: fsworkshop@cemla.org using the subject line “Submission – FSW”. Submission deadline is May 27, 2024. The authors will be informed of the final acceptance in early July 2024.

For updated information about the conference, please visit the conference website:

Keynote Speaker: Viral V. Acharya (New York University Stern School of Business)

Scientific Committee: Christoph Bertsch (Sveriges Riksbank), Mauricio Calani (Banco Central de Chile), Ricardo Correa (Federal Reserve Board), Matteo Crosignani (New York Fed), Mariela dal Borgo (Banco de México), Scott Davis (Dallas Fed), Filippo De Marco (Bocconi), Ralph de Haas (EBRD), John Duca (Oberlin College), Paul Fontanier (Yale School of Management), Emilia Garcia-Appendini (Norges Bank), Gabriel Jiménez (Banco de España), Peter Karlström (CEMLA), Thomas Lambert (RSM Erasmus University), Elena Loutskina (Darden School of Business Administration), David Martinez-Miera (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid), Natalya Martynova (Deutsche Bundesbank), Sergio Mayordomo (Banco de España), Karsten Müller (NUS Singapore), Carola Müller (BIS), William Mullins (UC San Diego), Pascal Paul (San Francisco Fed), Andrea Presbitero (IMF), Claudio Raddatz (Universidad de Chile), Raluca Roman (Philadelphia Fed), Kasper Roszbach (Norges Bank), Farzad Saidi (University of Bonn), Alessio Saretto (Dallas Fed), Larissa Schäfer (Frankfurt School), Glenn Schepens (ECB), Jason Sturgess (Queen Mary University), Rimmy E. Tommy (The University of Chicago Booth School of Business), Lena Tonzer (Magdeburg University, IWH), Nitzan Tzur-Ilan (Dallas Fed), Alexander Ufier (FDIC), Bernardus van Doornik (Banco Central do Brasil).

Program Co-chairs: Matias Ossandon Busch (CEMLA), Enrique Martínez García (Dallas Fed), Lars Norden (FGV, IBEFA), Björn Imbierowicz (Deutsche Bundesbank, IBEFA).