The Mortgage Market Research Conference: Call for Papers

Conference dates

15 May 2024 - 16 May 2024


Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia


Mortgages are the largest component of household debt, and the mortgage market influences many aspects of the economy, such as homeownership and wealth accumulation, real estate prices, the structure and risk of the financial sector, and the transmission of monetary policy and macroeconomic shocks.

The Mortgage Market Research Conference is a forum for the presentation and discussion of academic research on topics related to mortgages and the mortgage market. The conference will primarily focus on the residential mortgage market, although research on commercial mortgages is also welcome. In addition, the conference will feature a number of policy-oriented panel discussions that examine current issues and market trends, comprising policymakers, practitioners, and researchers. The 2024 conference builds on the successful first edition of this conference, held in 2022.

The academic portion of the conference will consist of paper presentations with discussants as well as a poster session. Please indicate in your submission if you are interested in being considered for the poster session. (This will not affect your chances of being selected for the main program.)

Limited funding will be available for travel expenses and accommodations for presenting authors and discussants. Some support also may be available for poster session participants.

This conference is jointly organized by the Philadelphia Fed’s Consumer Finance Institute, Research Department, and Supervision, Regulation, and Credit Department.

Paper Submission Procedure
Interested authors should submit a PDF version of their paper to our submission portal There is no submission fee. The deadline for submissions is Thursday, February 1, 2024.

Authors of accepted papers will be notified by mid- to late February.

Conference Organizers (all from the Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia)
Xudong “Sean” An
Neil Bhutta
Ronel Elul
Lauren Lambie-Hanson
James Vickery

Academic Program Committee
Darren Aiello Brigham Young University
Natee Amornsiripanitch Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia
Greg Buchak Stanford University
James Conklin University of Georgia
Anthony DeFusco University of Wisconsin–Madison
Andreas Fuster École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
Daniel Greenwald New York University
Lu Liu University of Pennsylvania
Lara Loewenstein Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland
Ben McCartney University of Virginia
Chris Palmer Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Nitzan Tzur-Ilan Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
Stijn Van Nieuwerburgh Columbia University
Nancy Wallace University of California, Berkeley

For More Information
Please address any questions to