The Seventh Annual Young Scholars Finance Consortium Organized by Texas A&M University

Conference dates

30 Mar 2023 - 01 Apr 2023


College Station, TX


Call for Papers

The Seventh Annual Young Scholars Finance Consortium organized by Texas A&M University will be held in person from March 30th to April 1st, 2023. The goal of this annual conference is to provide promising junior finance faculty and PhD students with an opportunity to present their research and receive feedback from a select group of accomplished scholars.

The conference theme alternates between asset pricing/investments and corporate finance/financial intermediation every year. The 2023 theme is corporate finance/financial intermediation. We invite advanced PhD students and untenured faculty, who received their first full-time faculty appointment within the last seven years, to submit both theoretical and empirical papers related to corporate finance/financial intermediation to the conference (non-presenting co-authors may be more senior).

Wei Jiang, Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Finance at Emory University, will deliver the keynote address at the conference.

The program committee for the 2023 Consortium includes Sudheer Chava, Mark Flannery, Jarrad Harford, Jerry Hoberg, Kose John, Jonathan Karpoff, Josh Lerner, Katharina Lewellen, Kai Li, Karl Lins, Tim Loughran, Vikram Nanda, Paige Oiumet, Chris Parsons, Jay Ritter, Clemens Sialm, Tracy Wang, Wenyu Wang, James Weston, Feng Zhang, as well as the entire research-active Finance faculty at Texas A&M University. Several of the committee members already committed to serving as discussants at the conference.

DEADLINE: The deadline for paper submission is November 18, 2022, at 11:59pm CT.

Regular paper submissions should be made via the submission portal ( For each submission to be considered, a fee of $60 must be paid first via the payment portal ( Please include the order number for your payment in the Google paper submission form.

If all the authors of the submitted paper are current doctoral students, the paper will be considered for the best PhD paper award and the submission fee is waived. PhD-only student submissions should be made via the alternative submission portal ( (To encourage PhD student participation, we will guarantee a presentation slot, pay all travel expenses, and waive the registration fee for the presenter of the best paper whose authors are all PhD students.)

The conference will begin with a cocktail party on Thursday, March 30th, followed by a full day of sessions, the keynote address, and dinner on March 31st. Events on Saturday, April 1st, will consist of a half day of sessions followed by lunch. The conference will take place at Mays Business School in College Station, TX. Participants can fly into College Station (CLL). We will also provide convenient ground transportation free of charge to and from the Houston (IAH) airport at set times on Thursday and Saturday. Attendees will stay at The George, a brand-new 4-star hotel, minutes away from our school.

Please contact the conference organizer, Xiaoding Liu, at, if you have any questions or would like additional information about the conference.