The Sixteenth New York Fed / NYU Stern Conference on Financial Intermediation Conference Announcement and Call for Papers

Conference date

05 May 2023


New York, NY


A conference jointly organized by the Federal Reserve Bank of New York and the Salomon Center of New York University's Leonard N. Stern School of Business.

The goal of this conference is to enhance the interaction among researchers interested in financial intermediation. Submissions in all areas of financial intermediation will be considered (except papers already accepted for publication). This will be an in-person event.

Paper Submission Procedure
Interested authors should submit a PDF version of their paper by email to:

The deadline for submissions is December 15, 2022, 11:59pm EST. Authors of accepted papers will be notified in early March.

In addition to longer paper presentations with discussants, the conference will also feature a session of short (10-12 minute) presentations by PhD students and junior scholars (defined as researchers less than six years post-PhD). Please indicate in your submission if you are both interested in and eligible for being considered for this session. Being considered for the lightning session will not affect your eligibility for selection for the longer presentations.

Wenxin Du, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Anna Kovner, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Simone Lenzu, New York University
Stephan Luck, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Philipp Schnabl, New York University

Matthew Baron, Cornell University
Juliane Begenau, Stanford University
Efraim Benmelech, Northwestern University
Matteo Benneton, University of California, Berkeley
Tobias Berg, Frankfurt School of Finance & Management
Lamont Black, DePaul University
Natalie Cox, Princeton University
Olivier Darmouni, Columbia University
Isil Erel, The Ohio State University
Sam Hanson, Harvard Business School
Victoria Ivashina, Harvard Business School
Elisabeth Kempf, Harvard Business School
Yiming Ma, Columbia University
Frederic Malherbe, University College London
Lira Mota, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Martin Oehmke, London School of Economics
Christian Opp, University of Rochester
Cecilia Parlatore, New York University
José-Luis Peydró, Imperial College London
Giorgia Piacentino, Columbia University
Adriano Rampini, Duke University
Ishita Sen, Harvard Business School
Philip Strahan, Boston College
David Thesmar, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Margarita Tsoutsoura, Washington University in St. Louis
Neeltje Van Horen, Bank of England
Emil Verner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Jonathan Wallen, Harvard Business School
Emily Williams, Harvard Business School
Kairong Xiao, Columbia University
Chenzi Xu, Stanford University

2021, 2019

Please address any questions to