Call for Papers - 59th Annual Eastern Finance Association Meeting

Conference dates

29 Mar 2023 - 01 Apr 2023


Asheville, NC


The Eastern Finance Association invites you to participate in its 59th Annual Meeting, which will be held in person at the Asheville Renaissance Hotel in Asheville, North Carolina, from Wednesday, March 29, to Saturday, April 1, 2023.

PAPER SUBMISSION PROCEDURE: Papers in all areas of finance are welcome and should be submitted electronically at The submission deadline is Friday, September 30, 2022, and the submission fee is $75.

All submitted papers will be double-blind-reviewed by members of the program committee. Authors of papers and special sessions selected for presentation will be notified in December. For each accepted paper or proposal, an author must register for the meeting after the acceptance notification. Additionally, any registered author of an accepted research paper must discuss at least one paper at the meeting.

Those wishing to organize a special session, panel discussion, or tutorial should submit a proposal directly to the VP of Program ( by the deadline above.

EFA 2023 DISTINGUISHED SCHOLAR: Professor Jennifer Conrad, the Dalton McMichael Distinguished Professor of Finance at the University of North Carolina Kenan-Flagler School of Business, will offer the keynote address and be presented with the EFA Distinguished Scholar Award for 2023.

We are privileged to have the following distinguished academics serve as our Executive Program Committee and will ultimately select papers for the conference from recommendations provided by our Program Committee:

Jennie Bai (Georgetown University)
Nicolas P.B. Bollen (Vanderbilt University)
Alexander W. Butler (Rice University)
Ryan Davies (Babson College)
Daniel W. Green (Harvard University)
Simi Kedia (Rutgers University)
Jeffrey Pontiff (Boston College)
Annette B. Poulsen (University of Georgia)
Andy Puckett (University of Tennessee)
Duane J. Seppi (Carnegie Mellon University)
Elena Simintzi (University of North Carolina)
Margarita Tsoutsoura (Cornell University)
Albert Y. Wang (Auburn University)
Ting Xu (University Virginia/Toronto)

We are fortunate to have the following junior faculty serve as our Rising Scholars Committee and contribute to the programming of the conference, including organizing special events and selecting awards:

Aymeric Bellon (University of North Carolina)
Kim Cramer (London School of Economics)
Fotis Grigoris (Indiana University)
Sebastian Hillenbrand (Harvard Business School)
Pekka Honkanen (University of Georgia)
Amy Wang Huber (Rice University)
Zhongling (Danny) Qin (Auburn University)
Yessenia Tellez (Virginia Tech)
Milena Wittwer (Boston College)

VOLUNTEERS ARE NEEDED TO SERVE ON THE PROGRAM COMMITTEE: The success of the annual meeting depends heavily on the dedication of the program committee. Committee members will be assigned 6-10 papers to review for inclusion in the meeting. I encourage you to volunteer by visiting the conference website ( and following the instructions.

We look forward to your participation and a successful meeting!

Marc Lipson
2023 VP - Program
Professor of Finance
Darden Business School, University of Virginia