Call for Papers - Financial Stability Considerations for Monetary Policy

Conference date

30 Sep 2022


New York, NY


The academic consensus has evolved to recognize that financial vulnerabilities have the potential to adversely affect the real economy and are also an inherent and largely procyclical part of the financial system. The Federal Reserve System is organizing a conference to garner the insights of researchers and policymakers on how monetary policy affects financial vulnerabilities and in turn how the state of the financial system interacts with the achievement of the maximum employment and price stability goals of monetary policy. The conference is being co-led by Federal Reserve Board Vice Chair Lael Brainard and Federal Reserve Bank of New York President John C. Williams, who will give opening and closing remarks. The conference will also include a panel of central bank policymakers to explore the themes of the conference, as well as paper presentations with discussants.

The organizers welcome submissions of theoretical and empirical papers that address the nexus between monetary policy and financial stability, with an emphasis on the following topics:
• Costs and benefits of monetary policy interventions that lean against the buildup of financial vulnerabilities.
• Interactions between monetary policy and macroprudential policy.
• The role of nonbank financial institutions in the transmission of monetary policy to financial stability.

William Bassett, Federal Reserve Board
Rochelle Edge, Federal Reserve Board
Anna Kovner, Federal Reserve Bank of New York

Program Committee
Ozge Akinci, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Nina Boyarchenko, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Miguel Faria-e-Castro, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Giovanni Favara, Federal Reserve Board
José Fillat, Federal Reserve Bank of Boston
Scott Frame, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
François Gourio, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
Benjamin Lester, Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia
Thomas Mertens, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco
Edward Prescott, Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland
Horacio Sapriza, Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond
Andres Schneider, Federal Reserve Board
Rajdeep Sengupta, Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City
Annette Vissing-Jørgensen, Federal Reserve Board

Additional Information

The deadline for paper submissions is June 30, 2022. Please send completed papers to the following email address: Authors of accepted papers will be informed by July 31, 2022. The conference will be held in-person, with proceedings broadcast online. Travel funding may be available for academic presenters and discussants. Participation is by invitation only.