Conference dates

19 Dec 2018 - 20 Dec 2018





On December 19 and 20, 2018, we are holding an academic conference marking the 10-year anniversary of the full implementation of the Norwegian Board Gender Quota, co-sponsored by Handelsbanken. We are pleased to announce that with the additional sponsorship of Sweden’s Central Bank (Riksbank), we are now able to help defray travel expenses for presenters of accepted papers. To allow for greater participation in the conference, we are therefore extending the submission deadline to May 25.

OVERVIEW: The conference will consist of 1.5 days of academic presentations on December 19 and 20, with a conference dinner the evening of December 19th. Marianne Bertrand, the Chris P. Dialynas Professor of Economics at the University of Chicago's Booth School of Business, will deliver a keynote speech on December 19, 2018. On December 20th, we will have a panel debate on the merits of quotas involving members of the business and policy communities. We particularly welcome submissions that can help inform our understanding of the pros and cons of board quotas and policy-making activity relating to board diversity. However, we are also open to papers with a broader focus on the role of diversity in finance. To encourage lively discussions, we prefer early-stage papers. Submitted papers should not have been accepted for publication.

OF POTENTIAL INTEREST: The conference will be preceded by the third Showcasing Women in Finance conference hosted by the Swedish House of Finance and AFFECT ( This Showcase is a continuation of the series of Showcase events hosted by the University of Miami and AFFECT. A separate call for papers will be issued for the Showcase. We will create networking opportunities across both events.

ADMINISTRATIVE DETAILS: The conference is scheduled to take place at Stockholm University. We will cover two nights’ hotel for conference participants and contribute towards participants’ travel expenses. We are waiving registration fees for presenters and speakers and will assist participants in making hotel bookings.

We look forward to meeting you in December, 2018.

The Organizing Committee

Iñaki Rodriguez Longarela
Stockholm Business School at
Stockholm University

Renée Adams
University of New
South Wales

Karin Thorburn
Norwegian School of

PAPER SUBMISSION PROCEDURE: Please submit your paper to by May 25, 2018. We aim to announce the final program in June, 2018.

FURTHER INFORMATION: If you have any questions, please contact Alexander Svenonious at

FEATURED SPEAKER: PROFESSOR MARIANNE BERTRAND is the Chris P. Dialynas Distinguished Service Professor of Economics at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business. She is a Research Fellow at the National Bureau of Economic Research, the Center for Economic Policy Research, and the Institute for the Study of Labor. She has received several awards and honors, including the 2004 Elaine Bennett Research Prize, awarded by the American Economic Association to recognize and honor outstanding research in any field of economics by a woman at the beginning of her career, and the 2012 Society of Labor Economists’ Rosen Prize for Outstanding Contributions to Labor Economics. She is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.


Ken Ahern University of Southern California
Manuel Bagues Aalto University
Brad Barber UC Davis School of Management Studies
Amy Dittmar Michigan's Ross School of Business
Espen Eckbo Dartmouth
Daniel Ferreira London School of Economics
Patricia Funk Università della Svizzera Italiana
Olle Folke Uppsala University
Mariassunta Giannetti Stockholm School of Economics
Edith Ginglinger Dauphine Universite Paris
Samuli Knüpfer BI Oslo
Astrid Kunze Norwegian School of Economics
Kai Li Sauder School of Business
David Matsa Kellogg School of Management Northwestern University
Amalia Miller University of Virginia
Terry Odean University of California at Berkeley
Paola Profeta Bocconi
Johanna Rickne Stockholm University/Research Institute of Industrial Economics
Joacim Tag Research Institute of Industrial Economics
Feng Zhang University of Utah